Eric Bibb – Official website


Blues legend Eric Bibb has today released his critically acclaimed new album Ridin’, shortly ahead of an extensive UK headline tour.

“At 71, Eric Bibb has made a late-life classic. * * * * ” — Mojo

“Beautifully crafted…a wonderfully written songbook that adds to the numerous volumes in the Eric Bibb library.” — Blues in Britain

“…a fervent, gospel-backed blues manifesto.” — The Times

Stream the new album here


The follow-up to his multiple award-winning, critically acclaimed 2021 album Dear America, Ridin’ is produced by Glen Scott and features Habib Koite, Taj Mahal, Steve Jordan, Tommy Sims, Harrison Kennedy, Russell Malone, Jontavious Willis as well as a host of brilliant session musicians and singers from around the globe.

The concept album draws inspiration from the oil painting A Ride For Liberty (1862) by Eastman Johnson, which depicts an African American family fleeing enslavement in the southern USA during the American Civil War. The album’s themes of struggle, liberation, and perseverance and Bibb’s captivating storytelling prove once again that the blues are a powerful tool for social commentary.

Says Bibb; “As a songwriter, studying African American history has always been a deep well of inspiration. The true stories of my ancestors and their communities are at the heart of many of the songs on my new album – Ridin’. Together with co-writer/producer Glen Scott we’ve created a concept album focusing on the ongoing task of understanding systemic racism and purging it from our world. For all its seriousness, Ridin’ is a funky, groovy, hopeful collection of songs that feature stellar guest appearances by Taj Mahal, Jontavious Willis, Russell Malone and Habib Koité. At a time when popular political movements are attempting to delete truth from the historical record, I feel called upon to sing songs that contribute to greater understanding and much-needed unity. The making of Ridin’ has been a labour of love. We hope you’ll enjoy the journey.”

Ridin’ contains the singles “Ridin’”, “500 Miles”,  “Family” and “The Ballad of John Howard Griffin feat. Russell Malone”, which was released to support US Black History Month.



1. Family

2. Ridin’

3. Blues Funky Like Dat feat. Taj Mahal & Jontavious Willis

4. The Ballad of John Howard Griffin feat. Russell Malone

5. 500 Miles

6. Tulsa Town

7. Onwards (Interlude)

8. Hold The Line feat. Russell Malone

9. I Got My Own feat. Amar Sundy

10. Call Me By My Name feat. Harrison Kennedy

11. Joybells

12. Sinner Man with Eric Bibb String Band (Live at Wheatland Festival)

13. Free feat. Habib Koité

14. People You Love

15. Church Bells (Outro)


Click here for musician credits.